Crafts for Boys – Needle Felting

_DSC0445

Last week I decided to do something different with my Crafts for Boys class. I introduced them to the art of needle felting. I must say they were pretty surprised be the size of the point on that felting needle. So, before handing out the supplies I made sure they understood the rules for this project. Needle must always stay in the sponge when not working, the needle should never stray far from the sponge, and they must keep there eyes on there work while working at all times. This is a dangerous project if they are not careful. The needle should NOT leave the desk. NO POINTING with the needle. I even made them repeat the rules back to me to make sure I knew they heard and understood the rules. After all these are boys.

_DSC0471

Now, it was time to demonstrate how it works! You first must decide on a design you want to make then you pick your colors. Now here comes a new rule: NO CUTTING THE WOOL FIBERS, you pull away the amount you need, then manipulate the wool fibers to the shape you want on the felted wool and start poking away into the sponge.

_DSC0493

This little man is working way on a tree at sunset.

_DSC0492

This really was an amazing craft to do, the boys came in full of energy and quickly settled down to work on their projects. I can’t believe how quiet the room was.

_DSC0478

The youngest boy in my class, what a little sweetheart.

_DSC0506

Some boys will make a simple design and be ready for a new piece of wool.

_DSC0519

Some will spend more time making exact detail.

_DSC0514 _DSC0517

Some boys will take your idea and run with it making a whole scene.

 But everyone will have fun.

Here is one of my frugal tips for this project, the felted wool sheet. It was an old wool sweater I stopped wearing and washed  in my washing machine and dried in my dryer. All it takes is 1 or 2 times shrinking it to felt it. Then I grabbed some fabric scissors and cut it in to rectangles for kid projects. So keep that in mind if you have old wool sweaters you don’t wear.

Feel free to shop at your local yarn shop for felting supplies. We shopped at Purls of joy in Healdsburg, CA 95448

You can also buy your felting Needle kit online at Amazon.com

have fun with this one!

Rosalia

Leave a comment