Father’s & Daughters

father &daughters

Fathers and daughters, have a special bond, there is no denying that.  I see it every time my daughter looks at her father, and like wise, when my husband looks at his daughter. It’s those sweet moments when she shares an exciting part of her day with him. And I notice the proud papa glow in my husbands eyes, when he is just enjoying listening to her. He is completely present and in that moment, he is sharing in her joy. Letting her know what a great job she did. The beams that then radiate from her face are simply priceless.

This indeed is one of those relationships that needs to be protected and respected. Our daughters are fragile little ladies that are innocent and need to be shown love, respect and worth. To learn that she has value because she is a child of God, and is here to serve His purpose. Not because of anything she did or anything she should do. Who better than their Christian father (or uncle)  to teach such a lesson. Part of this lesson in my opinion, is a father (or uncle) taking his little lady (or ladies) out on a special date to show her, how a lady is to be treated by a man; with dignity and grace.

In order to celebrate this beautiful bond, and encourage healthy relationships. I felt the church we attend should have a Daddy Daughter Dance for daughters from as young as 2, all the way up to 18 year old teenagers. I was very happy to hear that a few fathers did take their 2 year old daughters out for this special night. What a blessing.

Now, I know lots of churches do this, but I had my vision of what I wanted this night to be. So thanks to my church and all the hard working hands, we were able to make this happen. What a blessing this night was to all the little girls that went.

I am happy to say, we have decided to make this an annual event for Daddy’s and Daughters.

_DSC0245
Here is my little Cupcake getting ready for her big night!

 When I first mentioned this event to my oldest daughter. She was super excited! She was telling everyone about the dance. “When we get there, all the girls will have a crown put on their head!” She would gladly announce to everyone who would listen. Tis’ true that was the plan. The idea behind the crown was, ” I am a princess, not because I have a prince, but because my Father is the King.” Yes, the Lord our God.

_DSC0239

This was a special time for me too. Getting my daughter all fancy for a night out with dad. Honestly, my oldest isn’t really into being fancy on any given day. She is all about her jersey shirt and stretchy pants. But for this night, she wanted it all; nails polished, hair done, blush for cotton candy pink cheeks, and of course pink lip gloss.

_DSC0249

I did my best with her hair and she was very happy to be pampered.

_DSC0266

My sweet little Cupcake.

daddy & daughters

Peanut was happy to get dressed up and go through my jewelry box. She is our little ham who is all about being girly.

The cherry on top of all this excitement (for me), was that my husband left work early and went shopping. He picked out a whole new suit to wear for this event. I must say, I think my husband looks super handsome. He was a true gentlemen. He rang the door bell and gave them each a gift of See’s chocolate, because the girls love chocolate. Then off they went, to dance the night away.

They were most certainly crowned princesses that night, they got a picture taken with dad, enjoyed a light dinner, decorated a frame for their special photo, made jewelry, enjoyed a dessert bar, and danced and danced and danced. It was a full night of fun.

I look forward to next years Daddy Daughter Dance.

We will be planning a masquerade theme.

Leave a comment