Guest Bath DIY: My Current Crazy

Let me introduce you to the current crazy in my life. It started 2 weeks ago when I went to Costco after church. I noticed before I left home that my husband laid some tools on the downstairs bathroom floor by the shower stall. I know he was curious to see how much water damage had occurred from the previous owners. It was obviously soft to the touch in the left corner. So, I went shopping.

After a couple hours of being gone, I came home and unloaded a ton of massive quantities of food and pulled out my Tetris skills to put the food away. Then, I turned to my husband with hands on my hips and asked, “Okay, so what did you do?” “Nothing!” came his simple reply. So I walked over to the downstairs bathroom and opened the door. Yup, he was busy while I was gone.

_dsc0304

Well, I guess we have a new project underway. The entire shower was gone. I was surprised how “clean” it looked since it was a stock tile shower. He told me it just came off easily on the hardibacker. Which was great.

_dsc0306

Over the next few days he has worked on removing the toilet and the sink that could not be described other than hidious.

_dsc0305

     He also worked the following weekend removing the door and door frame.

     Since our laundry room is directly across the downstairs bathroom we decided we needed to rip the floor out of there so we can have seamless new flooring. So that happend next.

_dsc0299

So once the washer and dryer were out, we discovered that the builders did a cheap job of venting the dryer. So the 2 1/2 years we have been living in the house our dryer has been venting into the insulation and making the sheetrock soft and moist. We also discovered mold under the baseboards. Yuck!

_dsc0303

Since we really didn’t like having the washer and dryer in the house, we decided to put the washer and dryer into the garage and remove this cabinet. This room will now become a mud room! I am super excited about that!

_dsc0310

Here is the back of the laundry room in our garage. It was a simple task of emptying my kids craft cabinet and tearing it down. Then switching the electrical and plumbing to go out through the fire wall. So after a week of not being able to do any laundry. Our washer and dryer were hooked up yesterday evening and we are washing insurmountable piles of laundry.

I hope you enjoyed hearing about our current home improvement project. I will post better pictures when it is all done!

blog signature

“In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also.” John 14:2-3

Leave a comment