New School Year, New Goals: Goal #1

 

Blog Bible title1

Here we are at the end of May and it is time for me to finalize goals and plans for our new school year. Let me start with goal #1. One of our big goals for my oldest 2 kids (who are 8 & 10) is to read the Bible in a year. I am super excited about this! I will be joining them so we can have discussions on what we read. They will use their Bible journals to record things that stick out or that they remember the most. This does not replace our Bible study time, it comes right along side it to encourage more time in the Bible. Something we can all use, right!

Rosalia's cell-4

As a homeschool mom, I have the privilege to truly embrace Deuteronomy 6:4-9

“Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one! You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength.

“And these words which I command you today shall be in your heart.  You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down, and when you rise up.  You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes.  You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.”

Oh, the beauty that is in those words! This is one of the reasons our family homeschools, now I wish I could say I was perfect at doing what this verse says everyday. But I don’t, I fall short. Never the less, that is the goal! Since I am being mindful of this verse I have started putting together a schedule for my children to read thru the Bible. Since we school year round, with the new year beginning in June, it makes sense for our Bible reading schedule to start June 1st. Including a schedule for a morning reading, for “when we rise up”, and and evening reading, for “when we lie down”. Plus a little box for your child to check when he/ she is done. My kids like to check things off and feel accomplished for the day. The best part it talking about it at the Breakfast table and then with daddy in the evening.

Rosalia's cell-2

I will be posting these 1 week before the new month begins. Here is the month of June.

blog signature

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Romans 12:2

Leave a Reply

